IEEE Canadian Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering

A Brief History


The IEEE CJECE began as the Canadian Electrical Engineering Journal in 1976 with the support of Tom Pavlasek, then president of the Canadian Society for Electrical Engineering, and George Sinclair, then president of the Canadian Region (Region 7) of IEEE. It became the Canadian Journal of Electrical and Computer Engineering in 1988.

G.W. Holbrook served as the first editor. He was succeeded by Ian McCausland (1979–80) and A.N. Venetsanopoulos (1981–83, 1988) of the University of Toronto. Subsequent editors to serve have been: V. Ramachandran (1983–85) from Concordia University in Montreal; V. Rajagopalan (1986–87) from Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières; Vijay K. Bhargava (1988–92) overlapping with Wu-Sheng Lu (1990–93), both of the University of Victoria, the latter in turn co-editing with Michel Lecours (1993–98) from Laval University in Quebec; Om P. Malik (1998–2003) from the University of Calgary. For 2003–2008, co-editors were Xavier Maldague and Witold Kinsner from Laval University in Quebec and the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, respectively; for 2009-2011, Bob Dony from the University of Guelph, together with Vijay Sood from the University of Ontario Institute of Technology in Oshawa, Ontario. Shahram Yousefi from Queen's University in Kingston was the Editor-in-Chief from 2012--2019. Since May 2019, the Editor-in-Chief has been Mohamed Shehata from Memorial University of Newfoundland.

The first issue expressed the desire to "meet the long-felt need of the electrical engineering community to have a medium for communicating technical information of particular interest to Canadians, while also serving as a forum to make Canadian electrical engineering achievements known to a worldwide readership." That mission guides the IEEE CJECE to this day. We further target larger readership, higher impact, and better value to our IEEE members and subscribers.